Dancewalk is

 

Dance as voyage

 

Anywhere in the world

 

Dancewalk 2015

Dancewalk is dance as voyage, anywhere in the world.
A geographic inscription of body and dance, an activity where walking becomes dancing, where dancing is always forward-going, for several kilometers and several hours, through a city or a landscape. Dancewalk has been performed by Foofwa since 2015 in various contexts and locations, sometimes with other professional dancers, workshop participants and with local collaborating musicians.

For Foofwa, dancewalking is a challenge to normative aesthetic of dancing. Because of its unusual kinesthetic, choreographic and conceptual dimensions.

Movement-wise, dancewalking finds a new kinesthetic coordination combining walking and dancing; it thinks dance in a qualitative and quantitative way; it is an opening to all kinds of movements (those of dynamics and power as much as those of vulnerability and tiredness). It emanates from an extreme training (who is rehearsing for a show by dancing 100 or 200 kilometers?), but it is actualized, at the moment of the performance, by a sensitive listening of the energies and desires of the body-mind in interaction with the context and the environment.

At the choreographic level, the dancewalk can be considered as a redefinition of performance in its artistic as well as athletic terms; but also as a metaphor of one’s own destiny through life (“the way of the course of our life”). In addition, it enters the dance in a geographical way: one can read for example its choreographic movements thanks to a GPS recording on a map.

Conceptually, the dancewalk realizes a new choreographic relationship to duration and space, stretching them to the extreme. It considers time in terms of several, even tens, hours and thinks space in terms of distances in tens, or even hundreds, of kilometers.

The dancewalk interacts with the world and reality in a permeability that is rarely possible in dance or on stage, with a “decor” constantly scrolling and changing ; hundreds (sometimes thousands) of spectators, either warned or accidental; real dialogues with things and people; an immediate relationship with the unpredictability of life.

In 2017, the dancewalks became more social, more political. By interacting closely with the organizers, Foofwa carefully prepares and adapts some dancewalks to the city, its inhabitants and the context in which they take place. He collaborates with local musicians. On site, he gives dancewalk workshops to anyone curious, and invites them to join him during the performance. The festive and liberating side of the dancewalk stands out more strongly. The dividing line between performer and spectator is blurred.

For the coming years, in collaboration with structures and partners around the world, Foofwa wants to create very specific or large-scale dancewalking projects.

Dates

3
May

Zeughaus
Brig

Dans le cadre de la Fête de la Danse 2019

Photos / Videos

IMG_0957webphoto_gregory_batardon_50A3624webphoto_gregory_batardon_50A3166Capture d’écran 2017-06-08 à 14.58.51

photo: Simon Letellier

photo: Simon Letellier

Credits

Concept, choreography and performance  Foofwa d’Imobilité

Administration and communication Sylvia Jagdeep

Diffusion and production Patricia Buchet

Production Neopost Foofwa

Support In the period 2018-2020, Neopost Foofwa and the GLocal project (2018-2020) receives subsidies as part of the cooperative funding agreement between the City of Geneva, the State and Republic of Geneva and Pro Helvetia – Swiss Arts Council.

Find out more

openFoof

GLocal 2018-2020

It is possible
That this will also interest you

Dancewalk c’est

 

La danse en voyage

 

N’importe où dans le monde

 

Dancewalk 2015

Dancewalk c’est la danse en voyage, n’importe où dans le monde.


Une inscription géographique du corps et de la danse, une activité où la marche devient danse, où la danse avance toujours, sur plusieurs kilomètres et pendant plusieurs heures, à travers une ville ou un paysage. La Dancewalk est performée par Foofwa depuis 2015 dans différents lieux et dans divers contextes, parfois avec d’autres danseurs professionnels, ou encore en compagnie des participants des ateliers et avec la précieuse collaboration de musiciens locaux.

Pour Foofwa d’Imobilité, dancewalker est un défi à l’esthétique normative de la danse dans ses dimensions kinesthésiques, chorégraphiques et conceptuelles.

Au niveau du mouvement, la Dancewalk invente une nouvelle coordination kinesthésique alliant la marche et la danse ; elle pense la danse de manière autant qualitative que quantitative ; elle est une ouverture à toutes sortes de mouvements (ceux de la dynamique et de la puissance autant que ceux de la vulnérabilité et de la fatigue). Elle émane d’un entraînement extrême (qui se prépare pour un spectacle en dansant 100 ou 200 kilomètres ?), mais est actuée, au moment de la performance, par une écoute sensible des énergies et désirs du corps-esprit en interaction avec le contexte et l’environnement.

Au niveau chorégraphique, la Dancewalk peut être considérée comme une redéfinition de la performance dans ses termes artistiques autant qu’athlétiques ; mais aussi comme une métaphore de l’inscription de notre destinée (« le chemin du cours de notre vie »). En outre, elle inscrit la danse de manière géographique: on peut lire par exemple ses déplacements chorégraphiques grâce à un enregistrement GPS sur une carte.

Au niveau conceptuel, la Dancewalk réalise une nouvelle relation chorégraphique à la durée et à l’espace, en les étirant à l’extrême. Car elle considère le temps en termes de plusieurs, voire des dizaines, d’heures et pense l’espace en termes de distances en dizaines, voire centaines, de kilomètres.

La Dancewalk interagit avec le monde et la réalité dans une perméabilité rarement possible en danse ou sur scène, avec un « décor » défilant et changeant sans cesse ; des centaines (parfois des milliers) de spectateurs, soit avertis soit accidentels ; des dialogues réels avec les choses et les gens ; une relation immédiate avec l’imprévisibilité de la vie.

En 2017, les Dancewalks sont devenues plus sociales, plus politiques. En dialoguant étroitement avec les organisateurs, Foofwa prépare soigneusement et adapte sensiblement certaines Dancewalks à la ville, à ses habitants, au contexte où elles se déroulent. Il collabore avec des musiciens locaux. Sur place, il donne des ateliers de Dancewalk à toute personne curieuse, et les invite ensuite à le rejoindre lors de la performance. Le côté festif et libératoire de la Dancewalk ressort plus fortement. Les frontières entre art et réalité sont floutées. Les rôles du performer et celui du spectateur se voient chamboulés.

Pour les années à venir, en collaboration avec les structures et les partenaires locaux à travers le monde, Foofwa veut créer des Dancewalk d’envergure ayant une identité propre.

Photos / Videos

webphoto_gregory_batardon_D1A7125

Photo: Gregory Batardon

photo: Simon Letellier

photo: Simon Letellier

Photo: Gregory Batardon

Photo: Gregory Batardon

Crédits

Concept, chorégraphie et performance  Foofwa d’Imobilité

Administration et communication Sylvia Jagdeep

Diffusion et production Patricia Buchet

Production Neopost Foofwa

Support Neopost Foofwa et le projet GLocal (2018-2020) bénéficient du soutien conjoint de la Ville de Genève, de la République et canton de Genève et de Pro Helvetia – Fondation suisse pour l’art.

En savoir plus

openFoof

GLocal 2018-2020

Il est possible
que ceci vous intéresse aussi