Dancewalk

Soweto.Dancewalk (2017) - Celebrating Soweto, South Africa

Soweto.Dancewalk (2017) – Celebrating Soweto, South Africa

Dancewalk is dance as voyage, anywhere in the world.

If dancing, even on the greatest stages, is basically stationary,

Conversely, the Dancewalk is dance that travels.

Dancewalking is a continuous displacement of oneself

That asserts its unicity and strives for freedom.

It  is an artistic, kilometric, urbanistic, social, landscaping,

Collaborative, celebratory,

Political and humanist act.

 

The Dancewalk in a few words


Designed as a geographic inscription of body and dance, the Dancewalk is an activity where walking becomes dancing, where dance keeps moving over several kilometres and for several hours through a city or the countryside.

Swiss dancer-choreographer Foofwa d’Imobilité is the inventor of this concept and activity. Since 2015, he has dancewalked over more than 700 kilometres in 34 regions and 11 countries over 50 Dancewalks organised in collaboration with local teams, including an increasing number of local dancers, workshop participants, musicians and partners.

On every occasion, his company Neopost Foofwa has adapted the Dancewalk to the place, the moment and the context in which it took place, in collaboration with local organisations whether the performance happened in Switzerland, France, Italy, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Russia, Iran, Mali, Burkina Faso, South Africa, India or China.

The Dancewalk is a human adventure and an artistic act in the way it adapts to, shares and collaborates with others, as well as the way it expresses itself through the act of being-together in the public space. It is a celebration of life, an ode to freedom, an emancipation of oneself within the group and a declaration of cohesion that includes everyone’s differences and particularities.

Санкт-Петербург.Dancewalk (2017) - Group madness in Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Санкт-Петербург.Dancewalk (2017) – Group madness in Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Dancewalk - Moribayassa (2019) - Tradition and modernity in Bobo Dioulasso, Burkina Faso

Dancewalk – Moribayassa (2019) – Tradition and modernity in Bobo Dioulasso, Burkina Faso

 Dancewalk - Matripoine - (2019) - In the snow between La Chaux-de-Fonds and Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Dancewalk – Matripoine – (2019) – In the snow between La Chaux-de-Fonds and Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Water.Dancewalk (2016) - Dancing in, half-way or near Lake Zug, Switzerland

Water.Dancewalk (2016) – Dancing in, half-way or near Lake Zug, Switzerland

Conceptual approach and artistic particularities

Might the Dancewalk be a new dance form?

Might it be a new artform of our bipedalism?

For Foofwa, dancewalking defies the normative aesthetic of dance in its kinaesthetic, choreographic and conceptual dimensions.

Circumvolution.Dancewalk (2016) - 62 kilometers of dance around the Opéra Garnier de Paris, France

Circumvolution.Dancewalk (2016) – 62 kilometers of dance around the Opéra Garnier de Paris, France

In terms of movement, the Dancewalk creates a new kinaesthetic coordination that combines dance with walking and remixes the top and bottom parts of our body’s connexions. It considers dance both qualitatively and quantitatively. It opens up on all sorts of movements that are both dynamic and powerful, and vulnerable and wearying. It originates from very specific, at times extreme training and preparation sessions, dancing over dozens or hundreds of kilometres. At the same time, it is not elitist in the least: anyone can dancewalk, whether trained or not, at their own level and in their own way. At the time of the performance, it is actuated by listening sensitively to the energy and desires of our bodies and spirits interacting with the intention, the context, the other people and the environment. A dancewalker is both focused on the performance and open to discussion in interaction with others and the environment, which makes for this blend of application and casualness.

The Dancewalk is the hybrid child of dancing and walking.

It is a dancing monster that devours hours and kilometres.

It is a demiurge that writes choreography in space and time.

It is a geographic dancer with endurance as a muse.

Dancewalk!

Artistic grenade thrower!

Emancipation from the theatrical frame!

Dynamite!

Emancipation from the choreographic stranglehold!

Openness to the unpredictable!

Emancipation of the role of audience!

Explosions!

Bamako - Dancewalk (2019) - Going across the Niger river, Mali

Bamako – Dancewalk (2019) – Going across the Niger river, Mali

In choreographic terms the Dancewalk should be considered as a real performance both artistically- and  athletically-speaking. Foofwa also views it as a metaphor of the way we write our destiny (“The course of our lives, the path of our own stories”), where everyone can finally publicly assert their personal way of moving, declaiming their body and its unique, specific and idiosyncratic qualities to the world. In that sense, it moves away from formalist and aesthetic dances to become an act of inclusion and acceptance of all differences. Sometimes sections are practiced ahead in a specific way or according to a theme, but the Dancewalk never forces or compels participants to be anything other than themselves and what they seek to express. The duration of the performance and the repetitive rhythm of the steps often puts performers in an altered state close to trance. Certain moments resemble what we know of the manic dances like the Middle-Age ‘danses de Saint Guy’.

In conceptual terms, the Dancewalk creates a new choreographic relationship between dance, duration and space, by stretching them to the extreme because it considers time in terms of several hours, and views space in terms of multiple kilometres. Furthermore, it gives dance a geographic dimension, e.g. one can follow the choreographic movements thanks to a GPS recording on a map. In that sense, Foofwa considers that it originates in the field of choreographic art while flirting with other activities and disciplines, as in actual fact, an unknown, yet oddly familiar hybrid emerges from two known activities: dancing and walking. It is reminiscent of Monty Pythons’ “silly walks”, although the range of movements in a Dancewalk spreads far beyond humour and caricature. It is also reminiscent of conceptual performances that revolve around walking or Land Art. It is reminiscent of flash mobs, although much more thought-out and practiced while being more spontaneous and anarchic too. Finally, it is reminiscent of a postmodern approach to walking as a dance element in the choreographic field but once again, the Dancewalk does not rely on walking, it feeds off the human condition of having to walk on two legs in order to invent a new dance gait. Dancewalk can also be considered as the opposite of walking, like a dance form that seeks to never “just” walk.

Dancewalking is like spreading the cabriole,

It is replacing gloominess with dynamic cheeriness.

Dancewalking is a cadence that moves forward happily.

It is joyful starting cells as medicine.

And therapy through uncynical kinetics.

When dance becomes geographic

Happiness lies on the horizon!

Кострома.Dancewalk (2017) - Mocking propaganda in Kostroma, Russia

Кострома.Dancewalk (2017) – Mocking propaganda in Kostroma, Russia

Москва.Dancewalk (2017) - Defying police in the Red Square, Moscow, Russia

Москва.Dancewalk (2017) – Defying police in the Red Square, Moscow, Russia

In terms of the environment the Dancewalk interacts with the world and reality with such permeability as is rarely achievable in dance or on stage. These dialogues between things, people and the Dancewalk presuppose much porosity with reality and an intrinsic relationship with the unpredictability of the environment. Here, the work of art is in conversation with reality. First of all there is the space, constantly changing with ‘luxury scenery’ passing by – how many millions to erect this mountain or this building with so many extras? Then there are also the other sounds, the other movements of the world that become so many encounters and exchanges with the Dancewalk. Finally, there are the hundreds, sometimes thousands of onlookers, either informed or accidental who interact with the Dancewalk and its actors. The boundaries between art and reality are blurred. The roles of performer and spectator are upturned.

TimesMuseum.Dancewalk (2017) - In and outdoors in Guangzhou, China

TimesMuseum.Dancewalk (2017) – In and outdoors in Guangzhou, China

How to organise a Dancewalk

In line with the commitment of Cie Neopost Foofwa’s Glocal project, our way of touring choreographic productions since 2018 has focused on notions of openness, awareness and ethics in a globalised world. By seeking to avoid colonialist, patriarchal and neoliberal influences, we aim to create and share our works in a more conscious, responsible and humble way, by developing production relationships and touring strategies oriented towards encounters, dialogue, sharing and collaboration.

In that sense, a “glocal” work of art like a Dancewalk is no longer designed like a post-industrial object to be reproduced and distributed left, right and centre. Its production becomes a living work that requires the inclusion of local characteristics to be complete, and the collaboration of others on site to be carried out in a fair and unique way. The Dancewalk projects have served as models since the dialogue with venues has been strongly developed since 2017.

Concretely, the organisation of an outdoor Dancewalk is light in terms of technical requirements, since it does not take place inside a theatre. However, it does require significant investment in terms of time, logistics and human resources.

First of all there is a creative dialogue between Neopost Foofwa and the organisers in order to adapt the Dancewalk concept to the specificities of the place. This dialogue begins several months before the event and continues until the last hours before the performance. Then, there are certain specific logistical details, which is why we do not have a technical specifications sheet but rather a logistics and technical rider, which we call our “Dancewalk Logistech”, to prepare and manage the Dancewalk as best as possible.

This is why we ask the organisers to read this Logistech rider attentively and well in advance.

Mostar.Dancewalk (2017) - Dancing with the war’s vestiges in Mostar, Bosnia-Herzegovina

Mostar.Dancewalk (2017) – Dancing with the war’s vestiges in Mostar, Bosnia-Herzegovina

Excerpts or  full versions of all the Dancewalks are available on our Neopost Foofwa Vimeo account

DW12

Dancewalk - Ultra Valais (2019) - Performing on the Rhône glacier, Switzerland

Dancewalk – Ultra Valais (2019) – Performing on the Rhône glacier, Switzerland

History of the Dancewalks

Between 2003 and 2010: The Danceruns

In some 15 cities throughout Switzerland, France, Italy and Egypt, Foofwa invented and performed the Dancerun, the forbearer of the Dancewalk which was faster but shorter in terms of time and distance.

2015: First Dancewalk experiments

In 2015, the very first Dancewalk was a three-day-long, 100-kilometre danced meander from Saignelégier to Yverdon-les-Bains. That same year, Foofwa danced in Nordic walking competitions and dancewalked naked in the streets of Bienne for one hour during the Festival Body & Freedom.

2016: Exploring different variations of the solo Dancewalk

In 2016, the Dancewalk saw endless variations in Switzerland, Italy and France. On 21 June, on the day of the summer solstice, Foofwa did 100 danced revolutions around Opera Garnier, i.e. 62 kilometres in 12.5 hours with Circumvolution.Dancewalk (ParisOpera).

2017: The Dancewalks become increasingly social and collaborative with other dancers, musicians and workshop participants

Dancewalks have been shared in South Africa, Russia and Bosnia-Herzegovina. Talking closely with local organisers, Neopost Foofwa carefully prepares and significantly adapts each Dancewalk to the city, the residents and the context in which it takes place. On site, Foofwa carries out Dancewalk workshops open to all and invites participants to join him in the performance. The festive and liberating aspect of the Dancewalk stands out more strongly.

2018: Two more symbolic and political Dancewalks

The Dancewalk becomes more political in 2018:  Dancewalk – Mai 2068 takes place in a group and with megaphone in hand in Paris, in the footsteps of May 1968. A clandestine Dancewalk follows in the streets of Tehran, a country that strictly forbids dance in the public space.

Dancewalk - Clandestine Tehrun (2018) - Dancing like I am not dancing in a bazar, Tehran, Iran

Dancewalk – Clandestine Tehrun (2018) – Dancing like I am not dancing in a bazar, Tehran, Iran

2019: Exploring different variations of group Dancewalks, with more collaborations and partnerships

In 2019, Foofwa, always in the company of other dancers of his company as well as local professionals, dancewalks in the heat in Mali and Burkina Faso, then under the snow with 600 walkers for the Independence March in Neuchâtel. In Ticino, France, Russia and India, the Dancewalks echo social, political and ecological conflicts. With Dancewalk – Ultra Valais, the company creates a unique performance: Foofwa, in the company of 5 other dancers, dances for 243 kilometres through the Canton of Valais in 10 days. Each day, they address a topic that relates to the places visited and to the partners in each region.

DW15

Dancewalk - Ticino (2019) - Collaboration with artist Ilja Luginbühl, Stabio - Riva San Vitale, Switzerland

Dancewalk – Ticino (2019) – Collaboration with artist Ilja Luginbühl, Stabio – Riva San Vitale, Switzerland

Dancewalk - Mai 2068 (2018) - Dance as a demonstration, Paris - Nanterre, France

Dancewalk – Mai 2068 (2018) – Dance as a demonstration, Paris – Nanterre, France

Dancewalk - Du vert sinon j’étouffe (2019) - Dancewalking as resistance, Paris - Villecresnes, France

Dancewalk – Du vert sinon j’étouffe (2019) – Dancewalking as resistance, Paris – Villecresnes, France

Dancewalk - Aizawl #NoCAB (2019) - Respectful protest, Aizawl, Mizoram, India

Dancewalk – Aizawl #NoCAB (2019) – Respectful protest, Aizawl, Mizoram, India

2020 and the future: Spreading and diversifying the Dancewalk

Nowadays the company continues to offer Dancewalks in the public space. Since late 2018, the idea has also been to share these adventures indoors, in a theatre, with the dance piece Dancewalk – Retroperspectives. Paradoxically designed for the stage, the dance piece is an analytical, historical, poetic and audio-visual story that covers the 700 kilometres of Dancewalk performed through 33 regions in 11 countries around the world. This exercise in style enables the audience, thanks to a video projection installation and the presence of dancer Alizée Sourbé, to roam the world in communion with the various places, people, concepts and realizations.

Dancewalk - Retroperspectives (2018) - Théâtre de Vidy-Lausanne, Switzerland

Dancewalk – Retroperspectives (2018) – Théâtre de Vidy-Lausanne, Switzerland

PRESS

Le 19h30 – RTS, 9 May 2015 (French)
Dance Event: A Geneva dancer covers 100 kilometres in three days while dancing (French)

Stepping Out of the Centre: Live Art Festival 2017 / Artthrob – 22.02.17

Le Monde, 9 April 2018 – Les Amandiers take up the May 1968 legacy (French)
Laurent Carpentier
“A tribute to May ‘68 at Théâtre de Nanterre was inaugurated by ‘dancewalk’ choreographer ‘Foofwa’… 
Since then, his Dancewalk has featured in Sarajevo and Soweto, on Red Square in Moscow, in la Chaux-de-Fonds, jumping from one Swiss canton to the next… ‘Beauty will be convulsive or will not be’, blares the megaphone. Slogans like mantras. To soak them up, he explains the evening before, ‘We always want to change the world through our actions, but our scope is limited. Humbly, we have to change ourselves first, then see what that changes between us and ultimately, if it spreads to the public. Dancewalk is an area of truly anarchic freedom. There is no watchword, everyone is free to assert their performance. The interesting thing is not to duplicate the pitfall of May 1968, but to take inspiration from it, using the body’.”

Ma Culture, 10 April 2019,  Interviews – Foofwa d’Imobilité “Drawing this freedom which is inside the body towards the outside” (French)
Marie Pons 
“How does one dancewalk? How do you pass on the principle during a workshop when the group is invited to join the route with you for example? Bizarrely, there’s something quite natural in the dancewalk. The workshops gather people aged 5 to 85. In the beginning, I ask everyone to walk, then to choose a space, to be aware if they’re going left or right, if they’re turning in circles, to be attentive to their decision of inscribing their life, their body, their being in the chosen space, which is a real choice in itself, a choice of freedom. And then we listen to our appearance, our beings. So, based on walking, we see how we can inscribe ourselves in space and time in a just way, in accordance with ourselves. It’s very important for me to remind everyone that we are free and responsible people, and it’s our primary choice in this context to walk and move forwards. And to wonder about the choices we make, how we relate to others…”

Le Nouvelliste, 6 May 2019 – The “Brig Naters to me” Dancewalk has found its audience (French)
Xavier Duroux 
“Constant improvisation
Moving from one side to the other of the road, the choreographer combines walking with dancing with baffling skill. Everything is a pretext for the improvisation of original choreography which the public watches carefully and comments on happily. We can’t feel the wind anymore, we don’t think about anything else, only the show holds their attention. Even car drivers stop to watch this unusual and surprising exhibition.”

Sarajevo.Dancewalk (2017) - Underlying the symbolic in Sarajevo, Bosnia-Herzegovina

Sarajevo.Dancewalk (2017) – Underlying the symbolic in Sarajevo, Bosnia-Herzegovina

Dancewalk

Soweto.Dancewalk (2017) - Célébrer le township de Soweto, Afrique du Sud

Soweto.Dancewalk (2017) – Célébrer le township de Soweto, Afrique du Sud

Dancewalk c’est la danse en voyage,

n’importe où dans le monde.

Si danser, même sur les plus grandes scènes, c’est, à la base, du sur place,

La Dancewalk, au contraire, c’est la danse du voyage.

Dancewalker est un continuel déplacement de soi 

Revendicateur d’unicité, assoiffé de liberté.

C’est un acte artistique, kilométrique, urbaniste, social, paysagiste,

collaboratif, célébratoire, 

politique, humaniste.

La Dancewalk en quelques mots

Pensée comme une inscription géographique du corps et de la danse, la Dancewalk est une activité où la marche devient danse, où la danse avance toujours, sur plusieurs kilomètres et pendant plusieurs heures, à travers une ville ou une contrée.

Foofwa d’Imobilité, danseur-chorégraphe suisse, est l’inventeur de ce concept et cette activité. Depuis 2015, il a parcouru plus de 700 kilomètres de danse dans 34 régions et 11 pays lors de plus de 50 Dancewalks organisées en collaboration avec les équipes locales, intégrant de plus en plus d’autres danseur-euses, participant-es des ateliers, musicien-nes, partenaires et artistes locales. 

A chaque occasion, sa compagnie Neopost Foofwa adapte la Dancewalk au lieu, au moment, au contexte où elle se déroule, en collaboration avec les organisations locales que la performance se déroule en Suisse, France, Italie, Bosnie-Herzégovine, Russie, Iran, Mali, Burkina Faso, Afrique du Sud, Inde ou Chine.

La Dancewalk est une aventure humaine à travers l’acte artistique, de part sa manière de s’adapter, dialoguer et collaborer, ainsi que dans son expression à travers de l’être-ensemble au sein de l’espace public: célébration de la vie, ode à la liberté, revendication d’être soi-même parmi le groupe, déclaration de cohésion incluant toutes les différences et particularités de chacun-e. 

Санкт-Петербург.Dancewalk (2017) - Folie de groupe à Saint-Petersbourg, Russie

Санкт-Петербург.Dancewalk (2017) – Folie de groupe à Saint-Petersbourg, Russie

Dancewalk - Moribayassa (2019) - Tradition et modernité à Bobo Dioulasso, Burkina Faso

Dancewalk – Moribayassa (2019) – Tradition et modernité à Bobo Dioulasso, Burkina Faso

Dancewalk - Matripoine - (2019) - Danser dans la neige entre La Chaux-de-Fonds et Neuchâtel, Suisse

Dancewalk – Matripoine – (2019) – Danser dans la neige entre La Chaux-de-Fonds et Neuchâtel, Suisse

Water.Dancewalk (2016) - Danser au bord, à moitié dans et sous l’eau du Lac de Zoug, Suisse

Water.Dancewalk (2016) – Danser au bord, à moitié dans et sous l’eau du Lac de Zoug, Suisse

Approche conceptuelle et particularités artistiques

La Dancewalk serait-elle une nouvelle forme de danse?

Serait-elle un nouvel art de notre bipédie?

Pour Foofwa, dancewalker est un défi à l’esthétique normative de la danse dans ses dimensions kinesthésiques, chorégraphiques et conceptuelles.

Circumvolution.Dancewalk (2016) - 62 kilomètres de danse autour de l’Opéra Garnier de Paris, France

Circumvolution.Dancewalk (2016) – 62 kilomètres de danse autour de l’Opéra Garnier de Paris, France

Au niveau du mouvement, la Dancewalk invente une nouvelle coordination kinesthésique alliant la marche et la danse, le haut et le bas du corps; elle pense la danse de manière autant qualitative que quantitative ; elle est une ouverture à toutes sortes de mouvements: ceux de la dynamique et de la puissance autant que ceux de la vulnérabilité et de la fatigue. Elle émane d’entraînements et préparations très particulières, parfois extrêmes: on doit pratiquer en se déplaçant sans cesse, plutôt en extérieur, en dansant par accumulation plusieurs dizaines ou centaines de kilomètres. En même temps, elle n’est en rien élitiste: tout un chacune peut dancewalker, qu’iel soit entraîné.e ou pas, à son niveau,  à sa manière. Au moment de la performance, elle est actuée par une écoute sensible des énergies et désirs du corps-esprit, en interaction avec l’intention, le contexte, les autres personnes, l’environnement. Un.e dancewalkeureuse est tout à la fois concentré sur la performance et ouvert à la discussion et interaction avec les autres et l’environnement, ce qui donne ce mélange d’application et de décontractation.

La dancewalk c’est l’enfant hybride de la danse et de la marche.

C’est le dansant monstre qui dévore les heures et les kilomètres.

C’est un démiurge inscrivant le chorégraphique à travers espace et temps.

C’est une géographique danseuse à muse d’endurance.

Dancewalk!

Lanceuse de grenades artistiques!

Libération du cadre scénique!

Dynamites!

Libération du carcan chorégraphique!

Ouverture à l’imprévisible!

Libération du rôle du spectateurice!

Explosions!

Bamako - Dancewalk (2019) - Traversée du fleuve Niger, Mali

Bamako – Dancewalk (2019) – Traversée du fleuve Niger, Mali

Au niveau chorégraphique, la Dancewalk doit être considérée comme une réelle performance dans ses termes artistiques autant qu’athlétiques. Foofwa la considère également comme une métaphore de l’inscription de notre destinée (« le cours de notre vie, le chemin de notre propre histoire »), où enfin chacun-e peut revendiquer publiquement sa façon personnelle de bouger, déclamant au monde son corps et ses qualités uniques, particulières, idiosyncratiques. Dans ce sens, elle s’éloigne des danses formalistes et esthétiques pour être un acte d’inclusion et d’acceptation de toutes les différences. Parfois certaines sections sont pratiquées à l’avance de manière particulière ou selon une thématique par Foofwa et ses danseureuses, mais jamais la Dancewalk demande ou impose aux participantes d’être autre chose que ce qu’iels sont ou veulent exprimer. La durée de la performance et la répétition du rythme des pas mettent souvent les performers dans un état second proche de la transe. D’ailleurs, certains moments ressemblent à ce que l’on connaît des manies dansantes et autres danses de Saint Guy.

Au niveau conceptuel, la Dancewalk réalise une nouvelle relation chorégraphique à la durée et à l’espace, en les étirant à l’extrême. Car elle considère le temps en termes de plusieurs heures et pense l’espace en termes de multiples kilomètres. En outre, elle inscrit la danse de manière géographique: on peut lire par exemple ses déplacements chorégraphiques grâce à un enregistrement GPS sur une carte. Dans ce sens, Foofwa considère qu’elle émane du champ de l’art chorégraphique tout en flirtant avec d’autres activités et disciplines. Car en fait, de deux connus, la danse et la marche, émerge un hybride inconnu avec un parfum de familiarité. Ça fait penser aux Silly Walks des Monty Pythons mais la panoplie des mouvements de la Dancewalk s’étend au-delà de l’humour et de la caricature. Ça fait penser aux performances conceptuelles autour de la marche ou celles du Land Art mais la Dancewalk peut également être considérée comme le contraire de la marche, comme une danse qui ne veut jamais ‘seulement’ marcher. Ça fait penser aux flash mobs, mais c’est beaucoup plus pensé et travaillé que celles-ci et en même temps, à certains égards, plus spontané et anarchique également. Ça fait penser à l’approche post-moderne de la marche en tant qu’élément dansant dans le champ chorégraphique, mais encore une fois, la Dancewalk ne cite pas la marche, elle se nourrit de la condition humaine de devoir avancer sur deux jambes, afin d’inventer une nouvelle démarche dansante.

Dancewalker c’est prêcher la bonne cabriole,

C’est remplacer la morosité par la bonne humeur dynamique.

Dancewalker c’est la cadence qui gaiement avance.

C’est la médecine par le soubresaut joyeux des cellules

Et la thérapeutique par la cinétique jamais cynique.

Quand la danse devient géographique

Le bonheur est à l’horizon!

Кострома.Dancewalk (2017) - Singer la propagande à Kostroma, Russie

Кострома.Dancewalk (2017) – Singer la propagande à Kostroma, Russie

Москва.Dancewalk (2017) - Échapper à la police sur la Place Rouge, Moscou, Russie

Москва.Dancewalk (2017) – Échapper à la police sur la Place Rouge, Moscou, Russie

Au niveau de l’environnement, la Dancewalk interagit avec le monde et la réalité dans une perméabilité rarement possible en danse ou sur scène. Ces dialogues entre les choses, les gens et la Dancewalk présuppose une grande porosité avec le réel, une relation intrinsèque avec l’imprévisibilité de l’environnement. Ici l’oeuvre d’art entre en osmose avec le réel. D’abord il y a l’espace, constamment changeant avec un ‘décor de luxe’ défilant – combien de millions pour dresser cette montagne ou cet édifice avec autant de figurants? Ensuite, il y a aussi les autres sons, les autres mouvements du monde qui deviennent autant de rencontres et échanges avec la Dancewalk. Et enfin, il y a des centaines, parfois des milliers, de spectateurices, soit averties soit accidentelles qui interagissent avec la Dancewalk et ses agents. Les frontières entre art et réalité sont floutées; les rôles du performer et celui du la spectateurice se voient chamboulés.

TimesMuseum.Dancewalk (2017) - In et outdoor dancewalking à Guangzhou, Chine

TimesMuseum.Dancewalk (2017) – In et outdoor dancewalking à Guangzhou, Chine

Comment organiser une Dancewalk

Conformément au credo du projet GLocal de la compagnie Neopost Foofwa notre façon de faire tourner des productions chorégraphiques depuis 2018 s’articule autour des notions d’ouverture, de conscience et d’éthique dans un monde globalisé. En essayant de fuir les influences du colonialisme, du patriarcat et du néolibéralisme, nous essayons de créer et de partager nos œuvres d’une manière plus consciente, plus responsable et plus humble, en développant des relations de production et des stratégies de tournée orientées vers la rencontre, le dialogue, l’échange et la collaboration. 

En ce sens, une œuvre d’art “glocale”, comme l’est une Dancewalk, ne peut plus être un objet post-industriel à reproduire et à distribuer à volonté. Sa production devient une entité vivante nécessitant l’intégration des particularités locales pour être achevée, nécessitant la collaboration d’autres personnes sur place afin d’être réalisée de manière équitable et unique. Les projets de Dancewalk ont fait office de modèle car les dialogues avec les structures d’accueil ont été fortement développés depuis 2017.

Dans le concret, l’organisation d’une Dancewalk en extérieur est légère en termes d’exigences techniques, car elle n’a pas lieu dans un théâtre. Cependant, elle demande un investissement en terme de temps, de logistique et de ressources humaines très particulier.

Il y a d’abord le dialogue créatif entre Neopost Foofwa et les organisateurs afin d’adapter le concept de Dancewalk aux spécificités du lieu: ce dialogue commence plusieurs mois avant et jusqu’au voyage de la compagnie, plus tard à l’arrivée de la compagnie, jusqu’aux dernières heures avant la représentation. Il y a ensuite certains détails logistiques très particuliers. Voici pourquoi nous n’avons pas de fiche technique, mais plutôt une fiche logistique et technique que nous appelons notre fiche “Dancewalk Logistech”, afin de préparer et de gérer au mieux la Dancewalk. 

C’est pourquoi nous demandons à l’entité organisatrice de lire attentivement et bien à l’avance cette fiche ‘Logistech’.

Mostar.Dancewalk (2017) - Danser avec les vestiges de la guerre à Mostar, Bosnie-Herzégovine

Mostar.Dancewalk (2017) – Danser avec les vestiges de la guerre à Mostar, Bosnie-Herzégovine

Toutes les Dancewalks, par extraits ou en version intégrale, sont disponibles sur notre compte vimeo Neopost Foofwa

DW12

Dancewalk - Ultra Valais (2019) - Performance sur le Glacier du Rhône, Suisse

Dancewalk – Ultra Valais (2019) – Performance sur le Glacier du Rhône, Suisse

Historique des Dancewalks

Entre 2003 et 2010: les Danceruns

Dans une quinzaine de villes de Suisse, France, Italie et Egypte, Foofwa invente et performe la Dancerun, ancêtre de la Dancewalk, plus rapide et courte en terme de temps et de kilomètres.

2015: Premières expérimentations de Dancewalks

En 2015, la toute première Dancewalk a été une déambulation de 100 kilomètres dansée reliant en 3 jours Saignelégier à Yverdon-les-Bains. La même année, Foofwa danse des compétitions de Nordic-Walk et dancewalke nu dans les rues de Bienne pendant une heure lors du Festival Body & Freedom.

2016: Explorer différentes variations de Dancewalks en solo

En 2016, la Dancewalk connaît d’infinies variations, en Suisse, en Italie et en France. Le 21 juin, jour du solstice d’été, Foofwa effectue 100 révolutions dansées autour de l’Opéra Garnier, soit 62 kilomètres en 12 heures 30 avec Circumvolution.Dancewalk (ParisOpera).

2017: les Dancewalks deviennent de plus en plus sociales et collaboratives avec d’autres danseureuses, musicien-nes et participant-es d’ateliers 

La Dancewalk devient plus sociale dès janvier 2017, elle se partage en Afrique du Sud, Russie et Bosnie-Herzégovine.  En dialoguant étroitement avec les organisateuricess locales, Neopost Foofwa prépare soigneusement et adapte sensiblement chaque Dancewalk à la ville, à ses habitants, au contexte où elle se déroule. Sur place, Foofwa donne des ateliers de Dancewalk à toute personne curieuse, et les invite ensuite à le rejoindre lors de la performance. Le côté festif et libératoire de la Dancewalk ressort plus fortement. 

2018: Deux Dancewalks plus symboliques et politisées 

La Dancewalk devient plus politisée en 2018:  Dancewalk – Mai 2068 se déroule, en groupe et mégaphone à la main, à Paris, sur les traces de Mai 68.  Suivra une Dancewalk clandestine dans les rues de Téhéran dans un pays qui interdit strictement la danse dans l’espace public. 

 
Dancewalk - Clandestine Tehrun (2018) - Danser comme si on ne dansait pas dans un bazar de Téhéran, Iran

Dancewalk – Clandestine Tehrun (2018) – Danser comme si on ne dansait pas dans un bazar de Téhéran, Iran

2019: Explorer différentes variations de Dancewalks en groupe, avec plus de collaborations et partenariats

En 2019, Foofwa, toujours accompagné d’autres danseureuses de sa compagnie ainsi que des professionnelles locales, dancewalke dans les chaleurs du Mali et du Burkina Faso, sous la neige avec les 600 marcheurs de la Marche d’indépendance de Neuchâtel. Au Tessin, en France, en Russie et en Inde, les Dancewalks se manifestent en résonance aux conflits sociaux, politiques ou écologistes. Avec Dancewalk – Ultra Valais  la compagnie réalise une performance unique: Foofwa, accompagné de 5 autres danseureuses, danse 243 kilomètres à travers le Valais en 10 jours; chaque jour aborde une thématique en lien avec le territoire traversé et les partenaires de chaque région.

DW15

Dancewalk - Ticino (2019) - Collaboration avec l’artiste Ilja Luginbühl, Stabio - Riva San Vitale, Suisse

Dancewalk – Ticino (2019) – Collaboration avec l’artiste Ilja Luginbühl, Stabio – Riva San Vitale, Suisse

Dancewalk - Mai 2068 (2018) - Dancewalk en forme de manifestation, Paris - Nanterre, France

Dancewalk – Mai 2068 (2018) – Dancewalk en forme de manifestation, Paris – Nanterre, France

Dancewalk - Du vert sinon j’étouffe (2019) - Résister à travers la danse, Paris - Villecresnes, France

Dancewalk – Du vert sinon j’étouffe (2019) – Résister à travers la danse, Paris – Villecresnes, France

Dancewalk - Aizawl #NoCAB (2019) - Protester à travers la joie de la danse, Aizawl, Mizoram, Inde

Dancewalk – Aizawl #NoCAB (2019) – Protester à travers la joie de la danse, Aizawl, Mizoram, Inde

2020 et futur: Disséminer et diversifier la Dancewalk

Aujourd’hui la compagnie continue de proposer la Dancewalk dans l’espace public. Depuis fin 2018, l’idée a également été de partager ces aventures à l’intérieur, dans un espace théâtral, avec la pièce Dancewalk – Retroperspectives. Paradoxalement pensée pour la scène, la pièce est un récit analytique, historique, poétique et audio-visuel des 700 kilomètres de Dancewalk performés à travers 33 régions dans 11 pays du monde. Un exercice de style qui permet au public, grâce au dispositif des projections vidéo et la présence de la danseuse Alizée Sourbé, de parcourir le monde en communion avec les lieux, les êtres humains, les concepts, les réalisations.

Dancewalk - Retroperspectives (2018) - Théâtre de Vidy-Lausanne, Suisse

Dancewalk – Retroperspectives (2018) – Théâtre de Vidy-Lausanne, Suisse

PRESSE

Le 19h30 – RTS, le 9 mai 2015
Fête de la danse: un danseur genevois parcourt 100 kilomètres en trois jours en dansant.

Stepping Out of the Centre: Live Art Festival 2017 / Artthrob – 22.02.17 (english) 

Le Monde, 09 avril 2018 – Les Amandiers s’emparent du legs soixante-huitard.
Laurent Carpentier 
L’Hommage à Mai 68, au théâtre de Nanterre, a été inauguré par un “dancewalk” du chorégraphe “Foofwa”…
Depuis on a vu son Dancewalk à Sarajevo comme à Soweto, sur la place Rouge, à Moscou, comme à la Chaux-de-Fonds, sautant d’un canton suisse à l’autre….”La beauté sera convulsive ou ne sera pas” crache le mégaphone. Des slogans comme des mantras. Pour s’en pénétrer, explique-t’il la veille : “On veut toujours changer le monde par nos actions, mais notre champ est limité. Humblement, il faut d’abord se changer soi-même, ensuite voir ce que cela change entre nous, et, éventuellement, si cela diffuse vers le public. Dancewalk est un espace de liberté proprement anarchique. Il n’y a pas de mot d’ordre, chacun est libre de revendiquer sa performance. L’intéressant n’étant pas de dupliquer – Mail 68 – un écueil – mais de s’en inspirer en passant par le corps.”

Ma Culture, 10 avril 2019,  Entretiens – Foofwa d’Imobilité « Faire couler cette liberté qui est dans le corps vers l’extérieur »
Marie Pons 
“ Comment on dancewalk ? Comment tu transmets le principe au cours des ateliers lorsqu’un groupe est invité à faire un parcours avec toi par exemple ? Bizarrement il y a quelque chose d’assez naturel dans la dancewalk. Dans les ateliers il y a des personnes de 5 à 85 ans. Au départ je demande à chacun.e de marcher, puis de choisir son espace, d’être conscient.e de si l’on va à droite, à gauche, si l’on tourne en rond, d’être attentif.ve à cette décision d’inscrire sa vie, son corps, son être dans l’espace qui est un vrai choix déjà, de l’ordre de la liberté. Et puis on écoute l’allure de soi, de son être. Donc en partant d’une marche on voit comment on peut s’inscrire dans l’espace et le temps de manière juste, en accord avec soi-même. Et c’est très important pour moi de rappeler que l’on est des êtres libres et responsables, et c’est notre choix premier dans ce cadre de marcher et d’avancer. Et de se demander quels choix on fait, comment on s’inscrit par rapport aux autres… “

Le Nouvelliste, le 06 mai 2019 – La dancewalk «Brig Naters à moi» a trouvé son public
Xavier Duroux 
“…Constante improvisation
Se déplaçant d’un côté à l’autre de la route, le chorégraphe allie marche et danse avec une habileté déconcertante. Tout est prétexte à l’improvisation d’une chorégraphie originale que le  public suit avec attention et commente avec bonne humeur. On ne sent plus le vent, on ne pense à rien d’autre, seul le spectacle retient l’attention. Même les automobilistes s’arrêtent pour observer cette exhibition inhabituelle et surprenante.”

Sarajevo.Dancewalk (2017) - Souligner le symbolique à Sarajevo, Bosnie-Herzégovine

Sarajevo.Dancewalk (2017) – Souligner le symbolique à Sarajevo, Bosnie-Herzégovine

GLocal Dancewalks: